April 26, 2021

Hajj: The Fifth Pillar of Islam

Hajj: The Fifth Pillar of Islam.

Hajj is the fifth and final pillar of Islam. It is performed in the month of Zil-hajj for which Muslims travel to Makkah. Hajj will be performed by those whose body is able to perform. After performing the hajj the past sins of the person will be removed. Every Muslim should perform the Hajj once in a lifetime. Our Prophet Muhammad S.A.W perform Haj only once in His life.

Hajj for women will be performing with his husband, brother, or father. Because performing haj is compulsory to have its Meharam with them. Without Maharam, the haj will not be performed.

Purpose of Hajj.

It is a physically exhausting path that Muslims believe allows them to cleanse themselves of past sins and begin a new relationship with Allah. After performing Haj the previous sins are removed from its dairy(Nama e Amal). The hajj is performed by those which Allah chooses to perform haj. Not every Muslim is able to perform the Haj until Allah wants them to perform it.

How to Perform Hajj?

Hajj Step # 1: Circulating around the Kabah seven times.

The first step in performing Hajj before performing Tawaaf in Makkah is to put on Ihram. Pilgrims observe this on the 8th of Dhul-Hijjah before going to Mina.

Hajj Step # 2: Spend the whole day on Mount Arafat praying.

On the 9th of Dhul-Hijjah, pilgrims arrive in Arafah. Arafat Day is the most significant day. On this day, pilgrims pray just as much to celebrate Prophet Muhammad’s last speech. They begin doing Wuquf at Arafah in the afternoon.

Step # 3: Remained in Muzdalifah for the night.

Pilgrims depart for Muzdalifah when the sunset begins to fall. This is a spot where pilgrims pick pebbles for later shaitan stoning and spend the night under the stars. They offer Fajr prayers before sunrise and leave for Mina before sunrise.

Step # 4: Stoning of the Shaitan

So the fourth step of hajj is to throw the pebbles toward the shaitan. On the 10th of Dhul-hajj, pilgrims throw stones toward the shaitan. The pilgrims throw the seven pebbles at the Jamaraat columns. The shaitan attempted to stop Prophet Ibrahim from obeying the order at this location in Mina. He then throws the seven small pebbles towards him to make him go away. After the completion of stoning the shaitan the next step is to sacrifice animals. After stoning the shaitan the Muslims leave the mina they go towards the Kabab to perform Tawaf al-ifadha.

Step # 5: Run seven times between Safah and Marwa.

After returning from mina they then walk between Safah and Marwa seven times.

Step # 6: Perform Farewell tawaf.

The final step of Hajj is to execute the last Tawaaf of Kaaba in Masjid al-Haram as a “Farewell Tawaaf.” of haj.


Hadiths-related Hajj.

Narrated by Anas bin Malik

The Prophet offered four Rakat in Medina and then two Rakat at DhulI lulaifa and then passed the night at Dhul-Hulaifa till it was morning and when he mounted his Mount and it stood up, he started to recite Talbiya.

Sahih Bukhari Volume 2, Book 26, Number 618.


Narrated by Ibn Abbas

Allah’s Apostle had fixed Dhul Hulaifa as the Mlqat for the people of Medina; Al-Juhfa for the people of Sham; and Qarn Ul-Manazil for the people of Najd; and Yalamlam for the people of Yemen. So, these (above mentioned) are the Mawaqit for all those living at those places, and besides them for those who come through those places with the intention of performing Hajj and ‘Umra and whoever lives within these places should assume Ihram from his dwelling place, and similarly the people of Mecca can assume lhram from Mecca.

Sahih Bukhari Volume 2, Book 26, Number 601


Narrated by ‘Aisha

(the mother of the faithful believers) I said, “O Allah’s Apostle! We consider Jihad as the best deed.” The Prophet said, “The best Jihad (for women) is Hajj Mabrur. “

Sahih Bukhari Volume 2, Book 26, Number 595