What is Halal?

What is Halal in Islam?

Halal is an Arabic term that means permissible or legal. So, it is the nutritional norm, as prescribed in the Qur’an, in terms of food (the Muslim scripture). Haram, which means illegal or forbidden, is the total opposite of halal. So, halal and haram are words that can be applied to any aspect of life. Health products, meat products, cosmetics, personal care products, pharmaceuticals, food additives, and food touch materials are all examples of these concepts. While certain things are obviously halal or haram, so there are a few things that aren’t.

Definition of Halal.

So, in Islam, all foods are known as halal unless they are specifically forbidden by the Quran or Hadith. Halal foods, according to the official definition, are those which are:

  • Free of all ingredients that Muslims are forbidden to use under Islamic law (Shariah).
  • Processed, rendered, created, formed, and/or processed with clean cookware, tools, and/or machinery in accordance with Islamic principles.

So, Muslims eat to keep their bodies solid and stable so that they can devote their experience and commitment to the betterment of society. Muslims are expected to make an attempt to achieve the highest food level possible. In a Hadith, it is mentioned that Allah would deny a person’s prayer if the food is eaten is forbidden (haram). So, except for the following (which are haram), all ingredients are considered halal:

  • Psychoactive substances (Intoxicants) and alcoholic beverages
  • Animal Fat Enzymes from Non-Halal Animals* (Microbial Enzymes are permissible)
  • Gelatine* is a non-Halal product (fish gelatine is Halal)
  • L-cysteine is a kind of amino acid (if from human hair)
  • Lipase from lard (only animal lipase need be avoided)
  • Pork, bacon, ham, and something more from pigs that isn’t Halal
  • Unspecified Meat Broth Rennet* (All types should be avoided excluding herb, microbial, and synthetic rennet derived from halal slaughtered animals; rennet acquired from halal slaughtered animals is permissible).
  • *Stock (a blend of mixed species broth or meat stock)
  • Tallow (lard) (non-Halal species)
  • Mammals, raptors, and a few other species

Slaughter in Islam

Muslims are only permitted to consume meat cooked in accordance with Islamic law. So, animal rights campaigners also criticize this approach as “causing undue pain to the animal.” Muslims deny, claiming that Islamic law on animal slaughter is intended to alleviate the animal’s suffering and discomfort. The Islamic law of slaughter animals that are halal are given below:

  • The slaughterer must be an adult Muslim who is sane.
  • Before completing the cut, the slaughterer must speak the name of Allah. (Allah hu Akbar)
  • The name of Allah is uttered to emphasize the sanctity of life and the fact that the animal is being slaughtered for food with Allah’s permission.
  • So, the animal must be slaughtered by slashing its throat with a sharp blade in one quick movement.
  • At least three of the trachea, esophagus, and two blood arteries on each side of the throat must be severed.
  • It is forbidden to cut the spinal cord.
  • Before being slaughtered, animals must be well cared for.
  • So, animals must not be vulnerable to the slaughter of other animals.
  • In the sight of the cat, the knife must not be sharpened.
  • The knife blade must be clean of any flaws that might cause the wound to break.
  • The animal must not be in a stressful situation.
  • So, before further handling, the animal must be able to bleed out and be fully dead.

Quranic Ayats for Halal meat.

“Do not eat that (meat) over which the name of Allah has not been pronounced. This is surely a sin. The satans inspire their friends to dispute with you. If you were to obey them, you would be Mushriks. (6:121)”

O you who believe, fulfill the contracts. The animals from the cattle have been made lawful for you, except that which shall be read over to you, provided that you do not treat hunting as lawful while you are in IHrām. Surely, Allah ordains what He wills. (5: 4)